Cookies notification

In accordance with the EU Cookie Directive we are informing you that we use cookies to track your usage of this website. To find out more about the cookies we use see our privacy statement.


I accept cookies from this site


  • Cognition
    Cognition is another word for 'thought'.
  • Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT)
    Is a talking treatment designed to alter unwanted patterns of thought and behaviour; it addresses personal beliefs which may result in negative emotional responses, concentrating on understanding behaviour rather than the actual cause of a problem.
  • Cognitive remediation therapy
    Cognitive remediation therapy is an intensive type of therapy that can help people with schizophrenia cope better with everyday life.
  • Carer
    'Carer' is the term used to describe someone who provides support to someone with experience of a mental illness. Forms of support include: emotional, financial and practical.
  • Care Co-ordinator
    Everyone with mental health needs who is being supported under the care programme approach (CPA) should have one named professional who is their care co-ordinator.
  • Care Programme Approach
    CPA aims to make sure that service users get the help and support they need whilst a mental health service user. This is one by finding out what your care needs are and planning the best way to meet them.
  • Counselling
    Counselling is guided discussion with an independent trained person, to help you find your own answers to a problem or issue.
  • Craving
    A craving is a powerful, often uncontrollable urge for a particular thing.
  • Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS)
    The main symptom of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) or Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME) is a feeling of unusual and excessive tiredness that is characteristically made much worse after any activity.
  • Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service (CAMHS)
    The Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service is for children and young people up to the age of 18 who have emotional or behavioural problems or other mental health difficulties.
  • Care Quality Commission (CQC)
    The Care Quality Commission inspect and monitor all health and social care organisations in England to ensure they are providing safe, good quality care to their service users.
  • Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)
    Clinical Commissioning Groups will replace PCTs in April 2013. Each group will be responsible for buying health services for their local population.
  • Clinical service manager (CSM)
    Clinical service managers have responsibility for a service area, for example, adult inpatient services.
  • Clinical team manager (CTM)
    Clinical team managers have responsibility for a team of staff who provide care, for example, a clinical team manager for Ward 2 at The Mount will be responsible for those staff and that ward.
  • Community Learning Disability Team (CLDT)
    Community Learning Disability Teams provide services in the community for people with learning disabilities; that may be in people's homes or in local community buildings.
  • Community Mental Health Team (CMHT)
    Community Mental Health Teams provide mental health services to adults in their homes or in local community buildings.
  • Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment Team (CRHT)
    The Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment Team are based in Leeds and provide a service to adults who are mentally unwell in their homes to prevent having to go to hospital.